Extracorporeal shock wave lithotripsy

Try saying that three times fast.

So this is the name of the procedure I had yesterday.   Let me tell you, if any of you need a good urologist, I highly recommend Dr. Newman, out of Spring Valley Hospital.  He’s a little dry, when it comes to wit, but I tell you want…he is super nice, straightforward, and has funny moments.  (He asked yesterday before the procedure how tall I am.  When I told him 5’8″, he said “Ok good.  The stents come in different sizes, so we’ll find one that fits you.”  😉

Here’s the story:

Thursday night was EPIC.  So much fun.  I did a couple new songs at karaoke, and feel pretty good about them.  I had to stop eating or drinking ANYTHING at midnight.  Yesterday I got up at about 8:30, and took a shower, ran uptown to rent a few movies, and then came home, did some dishes, and waited for my seester Sara to come get me.

Sara was here with plenty of time, so I gave her the quick and dirty tour of the house, since she hadn’t been here yet. Then we left, I checked in, and we waited.

I’m really glad Sara took me yesterday.  She and I got to sit and chat, and we had a lovely talk…until she starting singing “Phinneas and Ferb” to me.  Then I decided I had to kill her.  LOL.

So when they finally took me back, they were a little behind on schedule…which wan’t a huge deal.  My nurse, Diane, was amazing…from South Bend Indiana!  Like Sara said yesterday, you can always tell mid-westerners…they’re always so nice. 🙂

She had a hard time finding my vein in my hand, so she got me two heated blankets and wrapped my hands in them.  Meanwhile, she had been great and gotten me a couple heated blankets for me, because I was FREEZING! 🙂

Diana had another nurse, Shannon, come in and put the IV in.  It hurt like a motherfucker, but she got it on the first try, therefore earning HUGE props from me.

Then my anesthesiologist came in and “mixed a coctail” for me, that made me feel very drunk, and pretty happy.  They got me into the room, moved me onto the FREEZING water table thing, and then the  anesthesiologist let me put the anesthetic in my IV by myself. 🙂  I thought that was cool.  He put the syringe there, and let me push it in.  I was out before I knew it.

When I woke up in recovery, I was crying because I was very disoriented, and it more pain than I went in with, but my new nurse, Sharon, gave me some wonderful painkillers, and the pain went from a 7 to a 4 in about 3 minutes.

Sara took me home, and then Morgan made me dinner: mac and cheese.  gotta love the comfort food.  It tasted SO good!

Morgan, Pat, Alex and I chilled in the living room and watched “The Box” with Cameron Diaz.  What I saw was really great…but I kept fading in and out of conciousness…left over anesthetic, and the oxycodone that I’m on…so I went up to bed.

Morgan woke me up when it was time for my medicine…and I must have gotten up to pee about 6 times.

So that was yesterday.  Dr. Newman said to my sister that the stent will stay in for about a month, and then they have to do another procedure, because my ureter is too narrow, which may actually be what is causing the stones.  (its too narrow, so its causing a build up of urine in my kidney.  Too much information, I know.)  So, what they’re going to do, is go in with a telescope through my bladder, like they did to put the stent in, and use a laser to make my ureter bigger.  That has I think about a 75% success rate.  If that doesn’t do it, only then will they cut into me to fix it.  But that’s a way’s off.

So..yes.  I’m feeling pretty sore right now…my right side is all swollen, and it hurts to pee…I’m probably going to passing the stones soon…which means that I have to strain my pee…which is proving to be harder than I though.  But, its fine.

I’m watching “Nine” right now, at my friend Leslie’s suggestion.  Everyone else is still sleeping  I will probably fall asleep again too…I expect to sleep off an on throughout the day.

Anyway, I wanted to update everyone, and say thank you SO MUCH for all of the love, support, and well wishes you all have shown me.  I am blessed to have the greatest friends and family a girl could ever want.

Leave a Reply

