I would walk 500 miles…but it would take a long time…

I just walked 2.5 miles in 45 minutes.  This is a huge deal for me. 😉

I don’t walk anywhere.  The last few months have been the first in my life since getting my license that I’ve been without my own mode of transportation.  Morgan has been amazing in carting me around everywhere…but my car was ready to be picked up tonight, so I walked from my apartment to go get it.

It was a long walk.  I was nervous, because it drizzled a little bit as I was starting out, and I didn’t want to get caught in a downpour…but the weather cooperated, and I was able to pick up my car.

On the way, I had some time to think about a lot of things, and I had something dawn on me.

I’ve been putting myself aside in my own life.

Big revelation, right?  Didn’t I just post about that a couple months ago?

But I have…there was something I was super excited to do about a year ago that I had to put aside because of my health issues…but I’ve been mostly fine since February…and I haven’t done anything to pursue getting back on track.

Until now.

I’m going back to school in the spring.

I’m going to get my degree in Arabic Studies.

I’m going to apply for financial aid, and for tuition reimbursement through work.  I’m going to study and do the things that I want to accomplish in my life.

This is probably going to mean that I will not be going out as much…not that I go out a hell of a lot now, but…it will be less for a while.

I have to do this.

I have to do SOMETHING for myself…with no one’s help or permission, or opinion.  And this is something that I’ve dreamed of doing for a long time now…

So.  I’m going to message my adviser and get information about financial aid, and find out when classes start after January 1.  (this will give me time to sell my costumes and upgrade my computer, get a webcam and mic for the language classes)…

I’m excited.

Its time…time for me to quit talking and start DOING.

Leave a Reply

