Is it me, or did the room just get darker?

2016 has been a horrific year so far.
We’ve lost so many amazing artists, and today, we’ve lost another one who has touched my life on a deep, personal level.

For years, I didn’t like Prince.  Or, I should say…I never listened to him, and didn’t like the idea of him.  I don’t know why.  Maybe I thought I was too cool to like someone as big as Prince.  (I was a bit of an elitist back then…not so much now.  I like what I like, damn anyone who judges me for it.)

Then, one day, when I was about 24, I was visiting my dear friend Jake, and he put on a Prince cd.  I tried to resist.  I started tapping my foot, and bobbing my head…and after just one song (“My name is Prince”) I was hooked.

My relationship with Prince’s music wasn’t as long as David Bowie, but let me tell you…his music inspired me, and got me through some really rough times.
Specifically…I recall finding out that my first love was marrying someone else (years ago), and I listened to “There is Lonely” from Old Friends 4 Sale on constant repeat, weeping uncontrollably, and desperately trying to curb the desire to cut myself.  I didn’t hurt myself that day.  Prince’s lyrics reached out to me, and comforted me…knowing that I wasn’t alone in how desperately lonely I felt.

I have amazing memories set to Prince’s music.  One of my favorites was a night out at karaoke years ago (long before I ever sang in public)…a guy sang “Darling Nikki”, and Jake gave me a lap dance! It was hilarious.  I remember so many karaoke nights here in Vegas, where my love, and my dear friends would sing “Seven”, or “Musicology” or “Purple Rain.”

I’m heartbroken today.  2016 has claimed another of my favorite, most inspirational artists.

Thank you, Prince, for all you shared with the world.
You will be missed, greatly.

“Is it me or did the room just get darker, oh?
Is it me or did I just lay down and die?
Is this a dream or did the world just crumble at my very feet?
How in heaven will I ever be alright?
There is lonely and there is lonely
And then there is how I feel right now
Perhaps only Cain when he’d slain his brother
Could ever come close to knowing how, yeah
There is lonely and there is lonely
And then there is how I feel right now
Perhaps only Cain when he’d slain his brother
Could ever come close to knowing how
There is lonely and there is lonely
Then there is how I feel right now…”  ~There is Lonely, by Prince, from Old Friends 4 Sale

 

Leave a Reply

